National: One killed, 25 injured in police action on BJP workers

National: One killed, 25 injured in police action on BJP workers


PATNA: Vijay Kumar Singh,general secretary of the Jehanabad district  junit of BJP died and 25 others,including two members of Lok Sabha were injured in police action on Thursday at Dak Bungalow Circle here.They were marching to state legislature demanding resignation of the deputy chief minister,Tejashwi Prasad Yadav and protesting against the teachers’ recruitment policy.
According to Dr Indushekhar Jha,superintendent of Patna Medical College Hospital,BJP leader was admitted in the hospital following head injuries and died within 30 minutes of his admission in the ICU.Another woman leader of BJP,Ms Minu Jha,who also received head injuries in police lathi charge has been admitted in ICU of the hospital.
Janardan Singh Sigriwal and Ashok Kumar Yadav,both BJP MPs who also received head injuries have been admitted in the Indira Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences.Other party leaders fractured their legs in police action.
Patna police had put barricades at Dak Bungalow Circle to prevent movement of BJP leaders and workers towards Legislature complex. .BJP workers tried to break the cordon and move further.Police lobbed water cannons and used force to disperse the workers.

Police also arrested 50 workers of BJP,including its leaders .Those arrested included the former deputy chief minister,Sushil Kumar Modi,BJP state president,Samrat Chaudhury,former union minister,Shahnawaj Hussain,former president,Nand Kishore Yadav.

Vijay Kumar Sinha ,leader of opposition announced BJP would organise a march to Raj Bhawan from state assembly on Friday morning in protest against police action


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *